Le major Whittington PDF

Jump to navigation Jump to search This le major Whittington PDF is about the mayor of the City region of London. For directly elected mayor of Greater London, see Mayor of London. Coat of Arms of The City of London.

In 1747, the Lord Mayor proceeded to Westminster Hall via barge on the River Thames. The Lord Mayor of London is the City of London’s mayor and leader of the City of London Corporation. This office differs from the much more powerful Mayor of London, which is a popularly elected position and covers the much larger Greater London area. In 2006 the Corporation of London changed its name to the City of London Corporation, when the title Lord Mayor of the City of London was reintroduced, partly to avoid confusion with the Mayor of London. However, the legal and commonly used title remains Lord Mayor of London.

The Lord Mayor is elected at Common Hall each year on Michaelmas, and takes office on the Friday before the second Saturday in November, at The Silent Ceremony. One of the world’s oldest continuously elected civic offices, the Lord Mayor’s main role nowadays is to represent, support and promote the businesses and residents in the City of London. Today, these businesses are mostly in the financial sector and the Lord Mayor is regarded as the champion of the entire UK-based financial sector regardless of ownership or location throughout the country. The Lord Mayor of London typically delivers many hundreds of speeches and addresses per year, and attends many receptions and other events in London and beyond.

Many incumbents of the office make overseas visits while Lord Mayor of London. A woman who holds the office is also known as a Lord Mayor. The wife of a male Lord Mayor is styled as Lady Mayoress, but no equivalent title exists for the husband of a female Lord Mayor. A female Lord Mayor or an unmarried male Lord Mayor may appoint a female consort, usually a fellow member of the corporation, to the role of Lady Mayoress. It was once customary for Lord Mayors to be appointed knights upon taking office and baronets upon retirement, unless they already held such a title. The office of Mayor was instituted in 1189, the first holder of the office being Henry Fitz-Ailwin de Londonestone.

The Mayor of the City of London has been elected by the City, rather than appointed by the Sovereign, ever since a Royal Charter providing for a Mayor was issued by King John in 1215. Almost 700 people have served as Lord Mayor. Dame Mary Donaldson GBE, elected in 1983, and Dame Fiona Woolf DBE, elected in 2013, are the only women to have held the office. Since 1435, the Lord Mayor has been chosen from amongst the Aldermen of the City of London. The Lord Mayor is elected at Common Hall, comprising liverymen belonging to all of the City’s livery companies.

The qualification to stand for election is that one must have served as a City Sheriff and be a current Alderman. Since 1385, prior service as Sheriff has been mandatory for election to the Lord Mayoralty. Two Sheriffs are selected annually by Common Hall, which meets on Midsummer’s Day for this purpose. The ceremony is known as the « Silent Ceremony » because, aside from a short declaration by the incoming Lord Mayor, no speeches are made. The Lord Mayor to be elected in November 2017 was known in April of that year. The day after being sworn into office, the Lord Mayor leads a procession from the City of London to the Royal Courts of Justice in the City of Westminster, where the Lord Mayor swears allegiance to the Crown. This pageantry has evolved into one of London’s longest-running and most popular annual events, known as the « Lord Mayor’s Show ».

As noted earlier, the main role of the Lord Mayor is to represent, support and promote all aspects of UK-financial service industries, including maritime. Banquets hosted by the Lord Mayor serve as opportunities for senior Government figures to deliver major speeches. Prime Minister delivers the keynote address. The Lord Mayor’s Collar of Esses may have once been used as the symbol of the office of Lord Chancellor by Sir Thomas More. The residence of the Lord Mayor is known as Mansion House. It was first occupied by a Lord Mayor in 1752, when Sir Crispin Gascoigne took up residence. In each of the eighteen courtrooms of the Old Bailey, the centre of the judges’ bench is reserved for the Lord Mayor, in his capacity of Chief Justice of the City of London.

The presiding judge therefore sits to one side. It is sometimes asserted that the Lord Mayor may exclude the monarch from the City of London. The legend is based on the misinterpretation of the ceremony observed each time the sovereign enters the City. The importance of the office is reflected by the composition of the Accession Council, a body which proclaims the accession of new Sovereigns. This is worn with black silk stockings, patent court shoes with steel buckles, white shirt with lace cuffs and a large jabot stock. This form of court dress is worn by all Lord Mayors regardless of gender.

When outdoors, they wear a black beaver plush tricorne hat trimmed with black ostrich feathers and a steel ‘loop’ for the cockade. This has been traditionally made by Patey’s commissioned by the Worshipful Company of Feltmakers for each incumbent Lord Mayor. Since 1545 the Lord Mayor of London has worn a Royal Livery Collar of Esses. However, the collar’s origins are not royal, Sir John Alleyn, thrice Lord Mayor, having bequeathed it to the next Lord Mayor and his successors « to use and occupie yerely at and uppon principall and festivall dayes. As an Alderman of the City of London the Lord Mayor has a scarlet gown and a violet gown, which are identical to those worn by his or her fellow aldermen except that they are trained. For State occasions when the monarch is present, the Lord Mayor wears a crimson velvet robe of state trimmed with an ermine cape and facings, very similar to a royal earl’s coronation robe.